[MV REVIEW] Wonder Girls – I Feel You review

There’s a couple of reviews that are being put off for the sake of being current. The track for Wonder Girls, I Feel You, is out. I couldn’t help but to be curious because the group was coming back as a band that the mind is left to wonder how they would change. So, here we go. Watch the video and I’ll give my thoughts after.

I definitely like the whole throwback to the 80s, early 90s with the MV feel. It’s almost like when MTV actually, you know, played music videos. The usual ‘JYP’ whisper (although it’s not really a whisper in this song) is back which somehow made me smile. Even the song sounds not of this generation, which is always a plus for me.

One trend I’ve noticed and I’m not sure if it’s something to be happy about or forever feel uncertain about is…female idols are constantly being sexual? I’m not quite sure how to explain it, but I remember when provocative clothing (or even shorts that were a little ‘too’ over the knee) or suggestive actions were very ‘cover your children’s eyes’ and ‘how dare you do that’. Personally, within Korea’s realms, I’m used to that and I actually felt more comfortable within it because most American music videos are sexualizing women. It was nice not to see it elsewhere. But now this trend is invading the scene, so I sort of feel like I’m watching a toned down American music video. A lot of the notions are unneeded and you can get your point across without over the top, unnecessary non-verbal actions.

The reason why there’s the mention of happy is because it’s breaking the very conservative stereotype of Korea of being very prim, proper, and a closed off utopia. There’s a sense of open-mindedness that wasn’t present before. But in this direction, honestly, it makes me feel uncomfortable.

What I’ve come to notice is that the old… I can’t call them the older generation, but the groups that started out of kids and now adults are going to this movement: make them seem more mature because there’s not teenagers anymore, put them in a sexual situation because it’ll make it more… adult like? I don’t know. But the one thing I do know is that I’m getting slightly off topic.

The highlight of the video for me was the slumber party at the end. Perhaps it was the least sexualized thing.

Music wise, I do like the song. It’s very throwback with the synthesizer and melody. I probably wouldn’t put it on repeat, but if it were to come up on a playlist, I would definitely listen to it and possibly sing along. WG sounds good as a band with this track and I’m actually… looking forward to more of their music this way.

Any suggestions on what to review, please let a comment.

Leave a Reply

